Committee Members 2020

Judge Robyn von Keisenberg, President
Dr Denys Court, Immediate Past President
Catherine Miller, Secretary
Dr Julian Fuller, Treasurer
Dr Stephen Wood, President Elect and Editor of Transactions
Judge Sarah Fleming
Leo Farmer
Janet Anderson-Bidois
Charles Hollings
Julie-Anne Kincade
Committee members can be contacted via the AMLS administrator at

Brief Bios

Judge Robyn von Keisenberg


Robyn von Keisenberg is a senior barrister specialising in the area of family law. Over many years she has developed a broad practice including Care of Children Act matters, relationship property/trust disputes with a special interest in mental health/incapacity law and Elder law issues. Robyn has served on the Mental Health Review Tribunal as Deputy Convenor since 2011.

Denys Court

Immediate Past President

Denys has 30 years’ experience in obstetrics and gynaecology in both the public and private sector. He is currently the Clinical Director of Secondary Maternity and Acute Services at Auckland City Hospital. 
Denys is also qualified in law and was previously the senior medico-legal Adviser in Auckland for the Medical Protection Society and a communication skills educator for Cognitive Institute. 
He has Fellowships of the Royal College of O&G, the Australasian College of O&G and the Australasian College of Legal Medicine. 

Catherine Miller


Catherine Miller is a senior solicitor at Buddle Findlay. Her practice involves a broad range of health and commercial work. Catherine provides advice to both public and private sector clients, including advice on commercial agreements, procurement processes, legal compliance, medico-legal issues, inquiries and investigations, policy development, and privacy. Prior to joining Buddle Findlay, Catherine worked in- house at Counties Manukau District Health Board.

Julian Fuller


Julian Fuller has been a practicing Anaesthetist for the last 29 years, with the last 20 years in Auckland, based at North Shore Hospital (Waitemata Health), and with private practice. Since 2011 he is also the Vice President of the NZ Hospital Specialists Association known as the ASMS (Assoc of Salaried Med Specialists). He qualified in Cape Town, before emigrating to NZ in 1992. His other passion is yacht racing, and he won the Whitbread Round the World Yacht Race in 1981/82, as well as having numerous Ocean passages under his keel.

Stephen Wood

President Elect and Editor of Transactions

Stephen is a consultant radiologist working in public and private practice in Auckland. He has appointments Auckland District Health Board (body radiologist), Breastscreen Counties-Manukau and is a partner at Auckland Radiology Group, where is currently the managing partner.

Sarah Fleming

Sarah was appointed a district court Judge in 2000 and holds a family court warrant and also hears Judge alone criminal matters. Sarah is the executive Judge for the Auckland court where she is based.

Leo Farmer

Leo is a Partner at Meredith Connell, where he undertakes litigation for a range of clients in both the private and public sectors.  His work includes deceased estate litigation for both executors and beneficiaries in deceased estates, as well as more general commercial and civil matters, including litigation under consumer protection and competition legislation.  He appears regularly for both plaintiffs and defendants in the civil jurisdiction of the High Court.

Janet Anderson-Bidois

Janet is the Chief Legal Adviser at the Human Rights Commission. Prior to this she spent 14 years as a senior medico-legal adviser at Waitemata and Counties Manukau District Health Boards. She has previously worked as a litigator in private legal practice and as an investigator with the Health and Disability Commissioner’s office. She completed her Bachelor and Masters of Law at Auckland University.

Charles Hollings

Julie-Anne Kincade