Past Presidents

                      Committee Members 2017

Dr Simon Chinchanwala, President
The Honourable Justice Christine Gordon, Immediate Past President
Ms Catherine Miller, Secretary
Judge Jonathan Moses, Treasurer
Dr Stephen Wood, Editor of Transactions
Ms Anna Adams
Dr Denys Court
Judge Sarah Fleming
Dr Julian Fuller
Dr Meredith Simcock
Robyn von Keisenberg

Committee members can be contacted via the AMLS administrator at

Feedback on this web can be sent to the webdeveloper




                      Brief Bios

Simon Chinchanwala - President
Simon Chinchanwala is an orthopaedic surgeon who specialises in hand, wrist and peripheral nerve surgery. He is based at North Shore Hospital and has a private practice on the Shore. Simon is currently the President of the Auckland Orthopaedic Society. His passion is golf.
Christine Gordon - Immediate Past President
In 1986, Justice Gordon joined the Auckland Crown Solicitor’s office, Meredith Connell, where she specialised in criminal law. She became a partner in October 1987 and remained at the firm until 2015. Justice Gordon was appointed a Senior Counsel (now Queen’s Counsel) in 2008. She held the office of Deputy Prosecutor for the Pitcairn Islands from 2001 until 2014 when she was appointed Public Prosecutor for the Pitcairn islands. In 2015 Justice Gordon joined the independent bar and later that year was made Special Counsel at the Manukau Crown Solicitor’s office Kayes Fletcher Walker. Justice Gordon was appointed a High Court Judge on 8 December 2016.
Catherine Miller - Secretary
Catherine Miller is a senior solicitor at Buddle Findlay. Her practice involves a broad range of health and commercial work. Catherine provides advice to both public and private sector clients, including advice on commercial agreements, procurement processes, legal compliance, medico-legal issues, inquiries and investigations, policy development, and privacy. Prior to joining Buddle Findlay, Catherine worked in- house at Counties Manukau District Health Board.
Jonathan Moses - Treasurer
Jonathan Moses was admitted to the bar in 1985. He was a founding solicitor at the Mangere Community Law Centre, also a former Trustee and Chair of the Mangere Community Law Office Trust. He was a barrister in South Auckland from 1990 to 2000. He is a former member of the Refugee Status Appeals Authority and the Crown Prosecution Panel. Between 2001 and 2009, Jonathan was a prosecutor with the United Nations International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (UNICTR). Jonathon has been sitting as a District Court Judge based at Manukau since February 2010.
Stephen Wood - Editor of Transactions
Stephen is a consultant radiologist working in public and private practice in Auckland. He has appointments Auckland District Health Board (body radiologist), Breastscreen Counties-Manukau and is a partner at Auckland Radiology Group, where is currently the managing partner.
Anna Adams
Anna is a partner at Meredith Connell, where she leads the public law and health team and is chair of the Board of the firm. Her practice involves a broad range of litigation and advisory work including public probity reviews, judicial review, complex civil and public law matters, medico-legal proceedings, inquests and criminal prosecution. She has argued civil and criminal cases before the District Court, High Court and Court of Appeal and in a range of tribunals.
Anna is a graduate of Yale Law School and the University of Auckland, where she was the recipient of prizes in law and politics and scholarships to study in the United States.
Denys Court
Denys has 30 years’ experience in obstetrics and gynaecology in both the public and private sector. He is currently the Clinical Director of Secondary Maternity and Acute Services at Auckland City Hospital.
Denys is also qualified in law and was previously the senior medico-legal Adviser in Auckland for the Medical Protection Society and a communication skills educator for Cognitive Institute.
He has Fellowships of the Royal College of O&G, the Australasian College of O&G and the Australasian College of Legal Medicine.
Sarah Fleming
Sarah was appointed a district court Judge in 2000 and holds a family court warrant and also hears Judge alone criminal matters. Sarah is the executive Judge for the Auckland court where she is based.
Julian Fuller
Julian Fuller has been a practicing Anaesthetist for the last 29 years, with the last 20 years in Auckland, based at North Shore Hospital (Waitemata Health), and with private practice. Since 2011 he is also the Vice President of the NZ Hospital Specialists Association known as the ASMS (Assoc of Salaried Med Specialists). He qualified in Cape Town, before emigrating to NZ in 1992. His other passion is yacht racing, and he won the Whitbread Round the World Yacht Race in 1981/82, as well as having numerous Ocean passages under his keel.
Meredith Fleming
Robyn von Keisenberg